Torta di pera e cioccolata

Torta de pera e cioccolateIt was -20C outside over most of the weekend and I just didn’t want to face it, so I baked. This week’s food section in the Ottawa Citizen featured “The rustic flavours of Florence” and I thought anything that gave even a small suggestion of Tuscany in this tundra-world I live in, might warm things up around here.
The cake they featured was a gorgeous thing called Torta di pera e cioccolata. Pears and chocolate. I had a couple of pears kicking around the house. Why not give it a try?
The challenge for me was there were no cup or teaspoon measurements in the directions. All weighed ingredients in either grams or ounces. So I pulled out the trusty scale and gave it a go. And I think it worked really well. It tasted great!
Recipe from the book: Florentine: The true cuisine of Florence by Emiko Davies (Hardie Grant, Chronicle Books, 2016).

Author: ronna2012

I love to decorate cakes!

One thought on “Torta di pera e cioccolata”

Leave a Reply

