Pass the peas

terrys-60th-b-day-2007My friend Terry is a blues musician who plays once a month at local hangout at an event called “Blues on Tuesday.” When he was turning 60, I was asked to make a cake for him. A guitar, his instrument of choice, seemed like an obvious choice for a cake.
Instead, I thought of all the numbers he cranked out at his monthly gig and my favourite is called “Pass the Peas.” And so the idea for the cake was born. Simplest way was to buy a can of peas, dump it out, scrub it really well, lie it down on the cake and make buttercream peas to seemingly pour out of the can.
Kind of a simple concept but it worked! He loved it!
All I can say to Terry is: Keep passing the peas!
I couldn’t find a recording of Terry performing Pass the Peas, but here’s a fun version of the J.B.’s doing  it. Click here.

Author: ronna2012

I love to decorate cakes!

One thought on “Pass the peas”

Leave a Reply

